Joining the Register

| 0

All nurses and midwives who want to work in the UK must register with the NMC. The register consists of three parts.

  • nurses
  • midwives
  • specialist community public health nurses (SCPHN)

The nurse part of the register is divided into four fields of practice

  • adult nursing
  • mental health nursing
  • learning disabilities nursing
  • children’s nursing

People can apply to be on the nurses or midwives parts of the register, as long as they meet the NMC standards. If trained as a general nurse, they should apply for registration with the NMC as an adult nurse.

Once registrered, they can work in the National Health Service (NHS) or private health.

To work as a nurse or midwife in the UK, they’ll need to meet immigration conditions. Immigration in the UK is handled by UK Visas and Immigration.

All nurses and midwives registered with the NMC must follow their rules and standards, including the Code. They also need to renew their registration annually.

It’s a criminal offence in the UK to pose as a nurse or midwife or to provide false or misleading information. If at any point in the application process it is discovered that an application is fraudulent, the NMC won’t continue to assess the application and the person may be liable for prosecution. Also, if after registration the NMC discovers that any part of the application was fraudulent, they will remove the nurse from the register who will be liable for prosecution.